Five novels by Mignon G. Eberhart return to print

With Mignon G. Eberhart’s detective novel The Mystery of Hunting’s End (Bison Books, 1998) chosen as the 19th One Book One Nebraska selection for 2023, the University of Nebraska Press is pleased to announce five more of Eberhart’s beloved and foundational detective novels are returning to print for the first time in more than 10 years.

Mignon G. Eberhart was one of the preeminent women mystery writers of the beginning of the 20th Century, frequently drawing comparison to her British contemporary Agatha Christie. Unlike Christie who was well known for her stable of recurring investigators, relatively few of Eberhart’s novels starred her inquisitive moonlighting detective, Nurse Sarah Keate, with The Mystery of Hunting’s End being her third appearance.

Eberhart’s novels frequently focused both on crimes and medical mysteries, often intertwining the two and setting them in isolated areas with a cast of rich, boorish suspects for the detective to interrogate and eventually accuse. Her work was published frequently in pulp magazines, reaching a wider audience and showcasing Nebraska and the Midwest in a genre the setting did not frequently appear in. Eberhart wrote 60 novels and saw her works adapted into nine Hollywood films before her death in 1996.

Along with the One Book One Nebraska selection, The Mystery of Hunting’s End, five more of Eberhart’s novels are now available from Bison Books, an imprint of the University of Nebraska Press:

While the Patient Slept – Originally published in 1930, Nurse Keate deals with a series of poisonings in the Berkshire Hills.

The House on the Roof – Originally published in 1935 and called a “Class-A mystery” by the New York Times in a contemporary review, the novel sees a woman having to prove her innocence when she discovers a murdered opera singer.

Wolf in Man’s Clothing – Published for the first time in 1942 and one of the last Nurse Keate novels, the story sees the detective forced to help a friend discover who shot a millionaire ex-husband while the attacker tries to finish the job.

From this Dark Stairway – Originally published in 1931, Nurse Keate discovers a body in an unexpected place in a hospital, with only a few clues and a multitude of suspects to crack the case.

Death in the Fog – Originally published in 1933, the novel is notably dread-filled and described by the New York Times at the time as “this one seems to us to be by far the best” of Eberhart’s work.

Find out how you can get involved with your local library or reading group on the One Book One Nebraska website and grab your copy of The Mystery of Hunting’s End on our website!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s